From offshore to inshore: all the news abouts sea sports from 2000

SeaSailSurfer of the month

SeaSailSurfer of March 2010 : Franck Cammas

New holder of the Jules Verne Trophy

Friday 2 April 2010Christophe Guigueno

All the versions of this article: [English] [français]

Franck Cammas and his crew of 9 mercenaries took the Jules Verne Trophy Jules Verne Trophy #TropheeJulesVerne from the hands of Bruno Peyron. To take the round the world sailing record Record #sailingrecord aboard Groupama 3 has not been easy. So the skipper based in Lorient Lorient L’actualité du port de Lorient et de sa région. is the SeaSailSurfer of the month.

In 2005, Bruno Peyron shew once again that to have the honors of the “Jules Verne” his machine had to be sailed fully controlled and underpowered. Five years later, the record Record #sailingrecord was largely in the range of the new trimarans able to cross the Atlantic in less than 4 days. But that business Business #Business was however not also simple.

Franck Cammas had to start twice this winter to try to finish a round the world tour. The one he did finished upside down two years earlier. Taken by time, he chose an unfavorable window to start from Ushant, but there was urgency. The boat had to return early to Lorient Lorient L’actualité du port de Lorient et de sa région. to be prepared for the Route du Rhum Route du Rhum #RouteDuRhum (start from St Malo in October 31st) and its new monhull (Groupama 70) was already waiting for the preparation of the next Volvo Ocean Race Volvo Ocean Race #VolvoOceanRace .

The regatta against Orange 2’s phantom was hard and it is only on the last partial that the green trimaran was able to overtake Peyron’s catamaran and then beat the record Record #sailingrecord . Franck Cammas is so the SeaSailSurfer of the month.

SeaSailSurf’s barometer of March 2010

Going up
:-)) :-)) :-)) Cammas’ crew Lemonchois, Le Peutrec, Le Goff etc. Honnors to the record holders !
:-)) :-)) Simon Payne The Brit is the new world champion of Moth (with foils).
:-)) Amaury Levernhe The first European to win the Pipe Line Pro of bodyboa.
Going down
:-(( Class America Still racing or as pot of flower, these "cuposaurus" do have any future?
:-(( :-(( Prince de Bretagne The Breton sponsor confirmed the dismissal of Herve Cléris to replace him by Lionel Lemonchois.
:-(( :-(( :-(( Pascal Bidégorry Cammas has the record. Will the Basque skipper have his revenge the next year?

Also in this section

SeaSailSurfer of the month : SeaSailSurfer of February 2010 : James Spithill

SeaSailSurfer : SeaSailSurfers of January 2010 : Dyen & Christidis

SeaSailSurfer of the year : Francisco Lobato "SeaSailSurfer of 2009"!

SeaSailSurfer of the month : SeaSailSurfer of November 2009 : Tanguy de Lamotte

Head news