Sea, Sail & Surf news

Du grand large à la plage : Toute l’actualité des sports de glisse depuis 2000

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards

Sensini and Ainsli awarded by Isaf

Ben Ainslie is the first person ever to have won the Award three times

mercredi 12 novembre 2008Redaction SSS [Source RP]

ISAF and Rolex are proud to announce that the female and male winners of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2008 are:Alessandra Sensini (ITA) and Ben Ainslie (GBR).

"It’s so difficult to describe my feelings in this moment," said Sensini upon being named the female ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year. "It’s an honour to stand on the same stage as the best sailors in the world and receive this recognition. I remember seeing the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games and dreaming of being on the podium with my country’s flag. I’ve now completed 5 Olympics, that’s 20 years of adapting to new technologies and changes and to be here now, tonight, is so important and I thank you all from the bottom of my heart."

Ben Ainslie made history once again this evening as the first person ever to have won the Award three times in his career. "Like Alessandra I would like to give a big thank you from my heart to everyone who made this happen," Ainslie said, gesturing to his parents and his sister who joined him at the Award ceremony. When asked what his plans are for the future Ainslie’s ambitions were clear : "The next goal for Britain is to try for the America’s Cup America's Cup #AmericasCup - we have a great British team. There are a lot of America’s Cup America's Cup #AmericasCup heroes in this room and we hope to see you on the water in the near future," he added with a smile.

Press Info KPMS /

Dans la même rubrique

TP52 World Championship : Quantum undisputed TP52 world champion

STP 65 : Udo Schütz presents a brand new Container

Rolex Big Boat Series : Reichel/Pugh 78 Akela took line honors in the final race

New York Yacht Club 154th Annual Regatta : Meyers’ Numbers Shows its IRC Prowess

A la une