Sea, Sail & Surf news

Du grand large à la plage : Toute l’actualité des sports de glisse depuis 2000

Rolex Osprey Cup

Baylis Wins, Fauré is second

dimanche 2 décembre 2001

Liz Baylis of San Rafael, Calif. won the Rolex Osprey Cup today, topping off four days of match racing here on Tampa Bay. Sailing with Baylis at this ISAF Grade 1 regatta were an all-California team of Aimee Hess (Oakland), Karina Shelton (Watsonville) and Stacie Straw (Marina del Rey). After a lack of wind yesterday afternoon forced the cancellation of the remainder of round robin matches, the St. Petersburg Yacht Club race committee went directly to the final round this morning.

As the two teams with the best win-loss records from the round robins, Baylis and Marie Fauré (FRA) were matched for the finals. "With light wind predicted, my only goal was to sail fast," said Baylis.

Although Fauré led across the starting line of the first match, she incurred a penalty in the prestart. Holding off on doing a penalty turn, she led around the racecourse, down to the last downwind leg. Baylis passed Fauré as the two neared the finish line and crossed first to win the match. Match two saw a repeat of Fauré earning a penalty in the prestart, this time she led the match, saving her penalty turn for the seconds before crossing the finish line. Unfortunately for her, she fouled Baylis again while attempting a penalty turn, giving Baylis the match. With two wins Baylis was declared the winner of the 2001 Rolex Osprey Cup.

In the petit final Sandy Grosvenor of Annapolis, Md. won two straight matches against Charlie Arms of Vallejo, Calif.

The SPYC junior team, led by skipper Evan Brown, finished fifth in the team’s first international regatta. Crewing for her were Kristin Britt, Alyson Dagly, Rachael Silverstein, Abby Ethington and Betsy Bryant, who rotated throughout the regatta. The team members were selected through a match race elimination series run by the junior program at SPYC.

2001 Rolex Osprey Cup Final Results

- 1. Liz Baylis (USA)
- 2. Marie Fauré (FRA)
- 3. Sandy Grosvenor (USA)
- 4. Charlie Arms (USA)
- 5. Evan Brown (USA)

A la une