Sea, Sail & Surf

Du grand large à la plage : Toute l’actualité des sports de glisse depuis 2000

SeaSailSurfer of the month

Ellen MacArthur SeaSailSurfer of November 2002

Winner of the Route du Rhum 2002

lundi 2 décembre 2002Christophe Guigueno

Has Ellen MacArthur won The Route du Rhum Route du Rhum #RouteDuRhum 2002 ? Or did she only won the Open 60 monohull division ? She has certainly won the most important class at the start and the biggest one at the arriving... And everybody will remember that she took the ’line honours’ has say Anglo-saxon sailors. For these reasons, Ellen is the SeaSailSurfer of november 2002.

Ellen à son arrivée du Vendée Globe
Photo : Ch.Guigueno /

Aboard Kingfisher, she took the start of the Rhum race 24 hours before the ORMA multihull fleet. As this division met many technical problems and a big storm, Ellen MacArthur did finished in an overal time less than six hours more than Michel Desjoyeaux’ one aboart Géant. She did cross the Atlantic in 13 days 13 hours 31 minutes and 47 seconds.

This was her fourth solo transatlantic after her Mini-Transat Mini-Transat #MiniTransat in 1997, two Rhum races and a british Transatlantic. Winner of the Route du Rhum Route du Rhum #RouteDuRhum in the monohulls class 2 four years ago, this is her third win in a transat and increase her impressive palmares after only five years of ofsshore competition.

After winning both solo transats and having taken place two in the last Vendée Globe, what s waiting for Ellen now ? Just a round the world speed record Record #sailingrecord aboard a giant catamaran. Then she will enter in the ORMA class with a new 60’ trimaran. To try to win the Route du Rhum Route du Rhum #RouteDuRhum in 2006 for the third time in a third class...

Dans la même rubrique

SeaSailSurfer : SeaSailSurfer of June : Jérémie Béyou

image 300 x 158Photo : G.Martin-Raget

SeaSailSurfer : Hervé Laurent ’SeaSailSurfer of may 2002’

image 300 x 158Photo : F.Mousis

Volvo Ocean Race : SeaSailSurfer of March : Neal McDonald

image 195 x 300Photo : Rick Thomlinson / Volvo Ocean Race

SeaSailSurfer of the year : Yannick Bestaven elected SeaSailSurfer of the year 2001

image 300 x 158Photo : Ch.Guigueno

A la une