Sea, Sail & Surf

From offshore to inshore: all the news abouts sea sports from 2000

November 2001 SeaSailSurfer of the month

Stève Ravussin, winner of the Transat Jacques Vabre

Monday 26 November 2001Christophe Guigueno

The SeaSailSurfer of the month has won the two-handed transatlantic from Le Havre to Salvador de Bahia. He is from Switzerland and is nearly 33 years old: Stève Ravussin was Franck Cammas crew aboard the 60’ trimaran Groupama.

image 300 x 158Photo: G.Martin-Raget / Royale Production

Two years ago the same pair, on the same multihull, finished second in the same race. This year, none of the other teams of the biggest offshore multihulls fleet ever seen in a transatlantic has been able to overtake them. Even Alain Gautier and Ellen MacArthur, still leaders of the race the day before the finish. The two past skippers of the Vendée Globe were sailing Groupama’ sister-ship, the four years old Foncia. This is the boat Stève has just bought and he will sail next year in the ORMA circuit.

His main goal next year will be the Route du Rhum Route du Rhum #RouteDuRhum from Saint Malo to Pointe à Pître. Four years ago, the swiss sailor entered in the french solo transatlantic at the helm of an old Formula 40 trimaran. It was then his second single-handed transatlantic as he entered in 1995 in the Mini-Transat Mini-Transat #MiniTransat . At the helm of his first 60’ trimaran, he now has the machine to win as a skipper.

Stève Ravussin (born in Lausanne, Switzerland, on december 23rd 1968)

2001 1st Transat Jacques Vabre Transat Jacques Vabre #TJV2015 with Franck Cammas
3rd Challenge Mondial Assistance aboard Groupama
2000 1st Québec-St-Malo aboard Groupama
1st Trophée Clairefontaine
1999 2nd Transat Jacques Vabre Transat Jacques Vabre #TJV2015 with Franck Cammas
1998 1st Route du Rhum Route du Rhum #RouteDuRhum - class 3
Laurent Bourgnon’s crew for the 60’ season
1997 Course de l’Europe aboard Primagaz
2nd Trophée Clairefontaine
1996 Transat Québec St-Malo
1995 Mini-Transat Mini-Transat #MiniTransat , Mini-Fastnet and Transgascogne
1994 Swiss Champion Formula 20
1987 - 1991 Surprise: 2 times 2nd of the Bol d’Or
F40 (multi) : DF design, Le Matin

Also in this section

SeaSailSufer of October 2001 : Yannick Bestaven

Head news