Sea, Sail & Surf news

Du grand large à la plage : Toute l’actualité des sports de glisse depuis 2000


Ellen MacArthur world Champion for 2000-2001

Stève Ravussin first crew ; Groupama first sponsor

vendredi 23 novembre 2001Information Transat Jacques Vabre

The Transat Jacques Vabre Transat Jacques Vabre #TJV2015 2001 was the last event to count in the biennial FICO-LACOSTE 2001 World Championships, for skipper, crews and sponsors alike, and the results of this race have finally determined the winners, who will be presented with their titles on the 7th December in Paris, at the official Awards Ceremony.

image 300 x 158Ellen MacArthur. Archives 2000. Photo : Ch.Guigueno

British skipper Ellen MacArthur is crowned FICO-LACOSTE 2001 World Champion, skippers’ category, after a passionately fought race in the Transat Jacques Vabre Transat Jacques Vabre #TJV2015 2001 on board trimaran Kingfisher-Foncia with skipper Alain Gautier, in which they sacrificed their 1st place to Groupama in the last 24hrs due to rig and technical problems.

As co-skipper, Ellen adds 28 points, half of the overall 56 points for 2nd place, to her already pole position in the rankings, to confirm her as 2001 World Champion in the skippers’ category. At 25yrs old, she is the first woman to have her name inscribed on the FICO championship title, and the second non-French after Canadian Mike Birch won in 1991-2.

French skippers Roland Jourdain & Frank Cammas, fill the podium in 2nd & 3rd place respectively in the FICO-LACOSTE 2001 skippers’ World Championship. Roland Jourdain, as winner of the Transat Jacques Vabre Transat Jacques Vabre #TJV2015 2001 in the Open 60 monohull class on Sill Plein Fruit with Gaël Le Cleac’h, moves ahead of Vendée Globe 2001 winner, Michel Desjoyeaux, to take his second spot. Frank Cammas, as winner of the Transat The Transat #thetransat #ostar Jacques Vabre 2001 in the Open 60 multihull class with Stève Ravussin on Groupama, climbs onto the podium as well in third place.

Stève Ravussin takes the title of FICO-LACOSTE 2001 World Champion in the crew category. This Swiss skipper made a remarkable leap from 8th to 1st place in the crew category, thanks to his victory in the Transat The Transat #thetransat #ostar Jacques Vabre 2001 on Open 60 multihull Groupama with Franck Cammas.

Groupama is named as FICO-LACOSTE 2001 World Champion in the sponsors’ category for the second consecutive year thanks to the victory of their skipper Franck Cammas with Stève Ravussin in the Transat Jacques Vabre 2001, this French insurance group reaping great rewards for its investment in offshore yacht racing.

- FICO-LACOSTE 2001 World Champion - skippers’ category
- 1. Ellen MacArthur (GBR) Pts : 329.5
- 2. Roland Jourdain (FRA) Pts : 302.5
- 3. Frank Cammas (FRA) Pts : 301

- FICO-LACOSTE 2001 World Champion - crew category
- 1. Stève Ravussin (SWZ)

- FICO-LACOSTE 2001 World Champion - sponsors’ category
- 1. Groupama, French Insurance Company

- FICO-LACOSTE 2001 World Championship Calendar

The FICO-LACOSTE 2001 World Championship is awarded to the best performances achieved in the following races, recognised by FICO, over a two year period between 2000 and 2001 :

- 5 major offshore races : Challenge Mondial Assistance (multihulls), Europe 1 New Man Star (mono & multihulls), Transat Jacques Vabre (mono & multihulls), Transat Québec-Saint Malo (mono & multihulls), Vendée Globe (monohulls)

- The Grands Prix ORMA (multihulls), which for the first time in the 2001 season have been staged in Belgium and Italy as well as France.

A la une